Socket to me

Back in affirmative action.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Socket to me

Postby Drain_Pipe » Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:14 pm

Looks pretty sweet, along with all the other updated videos. Pretty cool that you guys figured out a way to make this work. One thing I'm wondering about; could you add in a mechanism to unsocket items as well? One other thing is, have you considered having items which allow additional spell casting to have sockets as well? (normally socketing an item on cooldown would simply reset the item)
-Drain Pipe Out-
Drain_Pipe
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 9:16 am

Re: Socket to me

Postby Merlin » Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:20 pm

Cassiel wrote:I am le sad that nobody noticed the price go up each time a gem is inserted (even though the numbers are off because I haven't decided what gems will actually cost yet).

I noticed it! I also noticed that all the gems have the same description. >_>
User avatar
Merlin
 
Posts: 1530
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: YUL

Re: Socket to me

Postby Drain_Pipe » Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:21 pm

yeah just recognized that my second look through.
-Drain Pipe Out-
Drain_Pipe
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 9:16 am

Re: Socket to me

Postby Fledermaus » Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:43 pm

Drain_Pipe wrote:One other thing is, have you considered having items which allow additional spell casting to have sockets as well? (normally socketing an item on cooldown would simply reset the item)

I think blizzard fixed this awhile ago, like if you drop an item on CD then pick it up again, the CD is still the same but looks faster because it start from the start again but goes faster because it has less time left on the CD.
ImageImageImageImage
Image
User avatar
Fledermaus
 
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 6:02 pm

Re: Socket to me

Postby Cassiel » Thu Dec 10, 2009 4:37 pm

Merlin wrote:I noticed it! I also noticed that all the gems have the same description. >_>

Yeah, I'm not going to bother with the tooltips until I figure out their actual values. Right now it's +4 to an attrib, or the equivalent of +5-6 to that attrib for a derived value. So +4 Str, or +125 life. But then regen is an exception because the regen even from +6 Str/Int is only .3.

Fledermaus wrote:I think blizzard fixed this awhile ago, like if you drop an item on CD then pick it up again, the CD is still the same but looks faster because it start from the start again but goes faster because it has less time left on the CD.

Correct.
User avatar
Cassiel
 
Posts: 5087
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 2:12 pm

Re: Socket to me

Postby pix » Fri Dec 11, 2009 12:49 am

Can I socket a Warlock's with a Warlock's?

Looks amazing.
User avatar
pix
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: xyLoFoniuM gnomsayn@Azeroth

Re: Socket to me

Postby Drain_Pipe » Fri Dec 11, 2009 11:04 am

Fledermaus wrote:I think blizzard fixed this awhile ago, like if you drop an item on CD then pick it up again, the CD is still the same but looks faster because it start from the start again but goes faster because it has less time left on the CD.


I'm assuming, however, that you aren't picking up the same item, rather you're picking up a similar item. Does that still apply in this case? I haven't really done a lot of testing with items so I'm not sure.

On a side note, the program you wrote to generate all the items and combinations, what program was it? Just curious as to how you can do all this stuff without doing the work directly in the world editor program.
-Drain Pipe Out-
Drain_Pipe
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 9:16 am

Re: Socket to me

Postby Boolerian » Fri Dec 11, 2009 11:12 am

I'm pretty sure that it generates text in a vJass form, given the amount of sockets and gems. Once generated, Cassiel can only cnp it.

This really gives the player more freedom in terms of building up your character as you wish. Man!
User avatar
Boolerian
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 12:06 am

Re: Socket to me

Postby Cassiel » Fri Dec 11, 2009 11:20 am

Drain_Pipe wrote:I'm assuming, however, that you aren't picking up the same item, rather you're picking up a similar item. Does that still apply in this case? I haven't really done a lot of testing with items so I'm not sure.

Items have cooldown groups. Don't pots work that way in N?

Drain_Pipe wrote:On a side note, the program you wrote to generate all the items and combinations, what program was it? Just curious as to how you can do all this stuff without doing the work directly in the world editor program.

Err, what program is the program I wrote?
User avatar
Cassiel
 
Posts: 5087
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 2:12 pm

Re: Socket to me

Postby Boolerian » Fri Dec 11, 2009 11:23 am

Kaz wrote:Cass made a program to generate all possible variations created by socketing there's no way he'd be making them by hand.


That one.
User avatar
Boolerian
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 12:06 am

Re: Socket to me

Postby TheBigMole » Fri Dec 11, 2009 12:01 pm

Easiest way would propably be using gekko's GMSI. You could write some loops, which add all possible combinations to a map, quite simply with it.

Yet again, nice job. Will O focus more on items then previous versions? Will unitupgrading (buiding towers) change?
TheBigMole
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:04 am

Re: Socket to me

Postby Cassiel » Fri Dec 11, 2009 12:48 pm

The Widgetizer can't process that much object data. I played with GMSI but ended up using C++ instead.

Items beyond basic stuff will actually matter in O, so yes they're more important. Spawn upgrades use a menu on the keep rather than towers.
User avatar
Cassiel
 
Posts: 5087
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 2:12 pm

Re: Socket to me

Postby Arthas_Teranas » Sat Dec 12, 2009 1:12 am

Looks amazingly smooth.

Thanks for the update!
I have better things to do.
User avatar
Arthas_Teranas
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 11:39 am
Location: Thunderlord

Re: Socket to me

Postby nooK » Sat Dec 12, 2009 4:41 am

uh nice =)
so what's actually left do do before we can see a release?
nooK
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 6:38 am

Re: Socket to me

Postby erwtenpeller » Sat Dec 12, 2009 10:18 am

thousands of little fucking things. These blokes are shooting for perfection.
erwt.blogspot.com - Personal art exposé.
www.wc3campaigns.net - For all your modding needs.
User avatar
erwtenpeller
 
Posts: 3238
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 4:29 am

Re: Socket to me

Postby Zeuter » Sat Dec 12, 2009 10:58 am

ejaculation joke
simply
it is enough to
your task is simple;
just
all you need is to
User avatar
Zeuter
 
Posts: 3746
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 11:07 am
Location: オランダ

Re: Socket to me

Postby Boolerian » Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:59 am

Hero Selection: Check
Item Socket: Check
Spell Systems: Check
Terrain: Semi-Check
Heroes: 4 Check, 8 Not-Check
Models & Textures: Check (?)

...guessing by the things I've seen/read so far.
User avatar
Boolerian
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 12:06 am

Re: Socket to me

Postby Turkey_Slayer » Sat Dec 12, 2009 2:06 pm

YOU DON'T KNOW SHIT SON
User avatar
Turkey_Slayer
 
Posts: 2323
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 6:40 am
Location: Ft Lauderdale

Re: Socket to me

Postby Boolerian » Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:11 am

I wouldn't say shit, but there sure is a lot. I forgot things like projectile system, blood meter, elementals...
Hell, I thought that there were only heroes' abilities left to code, and now I see this item socketing. Who knows what else there is.

DO YOU?
If so, call this number 555-TOBFAN.
User avatar
Boolerian
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 12:06 am

Re: Socket to me

Postby Cassiel » Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:28 am

Mostly it's the terrain. The Terrain Palette sucks. Using it makes me want to harakiri myself. For long periods I just stare at the terrain, saying over and over again in my head "Terrain Palette, why do you suck?"

Hero abilities are mostly a breeze to script with all the systems in place. Tirion and I have already tackled the complicated stuff, with maybe one exception. The few effects I still have to make for abilities are more work than the scripting.
User avatar
Cassiel
 
Posts: 5087
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 2:12 pm

Re: Socket to me

Postby nooK » Sun Dec 13, 2009 3:42 am

Hm didn't think the terrain would need so much time.
So could you give us a short teaser of the hero lineup?
Still the 18 old or only 12 of them? Some new heroes?
nooK
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 6:38 am

Re: Socket to me

Postby erwtenpeller » Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:02 am

It's basically the same line-up. You guys have seen or heard of most "new" heroes by now, but all heroes have gotten upgrades and rerwites. Some more severe then others, but no character remains exactly the same as they where in N.
erwt.blogspot.com - Personal art exposé.
www.wc3campaigns.net - For all your modding needs.
User avatar
erwtenpeller
 
Posts: 3238
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 4:29 am

Re: Socket to me

Postby Viikuna- » Sun Dec 13, 2009 11:20 am

You better release O, because if you dont, it wont be released !!!!



edit. sry, I just felt like posting someting useless.
No Marlo, no game.
User avatar
Viikuna-
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 4:27 am

Re: Socket to me

Postby Turkey_Slayer » Sun Dec 13, 2009 11:23 am

Welcome to my world.
User avatar
Turkey_Slayer
 
Posts: 2323
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 6:40 am
Location: Ft Lauderdale

Re: Socket to me

Postby Viikuna- » Sun Dec 13, 2009 11:36 am

Yea, but someone guys have to post something, because if they dont, there would be no posts at all !!!!


edit. removed that yellow !- mark, because it looked pretty stupid.
No Marlo, no game.
User avatar
Viikuna-
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 4:27 am

PreviousNext

Return to Tides of Blood

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron