"I'm chargin' ma fireball"

For discussions regarding skinning and mapmaking for Warcraft 3.

Moderator: Moderators

"I'm chargin' ma fireball"

Postby Mur » Sun Sep 07, 2008 4:11 am

Hey all, having a little problem getting a unit to cast it's "spell channel" animation when it's casting a spell that has cast time, a la Blood Mage casting Flame Strike. I thought any unit with a spell Channel anim would pay the anim when casting any spell with a cast time, but this is apparantly not the case. They just stand there like dumb fucks and then cast the spell three seconds later.

Any triggers/Somethign simple I'm missing?

Thanks.
More like murlurk.
User avatar
Mur
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 2:47 pm
Location: England.

Re: "I'm chargin' ma fireball"

Postby Fledermaus » Sun Sep 07, 2008 4:56 am

Art - Animation Names spell, channel
ImageImageImageImage
Image
User avatar
Fledermaus
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 6:02 pm

Re: "I'm chargin' ma fireball"

Postby Mur » Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:21 am

Yup, tried that. Doesn't work.
More like murlurk.
User avatar
Mur
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 2:47 pm
Location: England.

Re: "I'm chargin' ma fireball"

Postby Andorious » Sun Sep 07, 2008 10:23 am

You can do it in triggering too, Play unit x's spell animation - Animation change animation speed to x then reset the unit animation speed to 100% again

You can change it to however fast you like just make sure after you reset the units animation and animation speed or they freeze when theyre not walking.
Andorious
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 6:53 am

Re: "I'm chargin' ma fireball"

Postby WatermelonMan » Sun Sep 07, 2008 11:17 am

or you can open up the model in some wc3 viewer thing and then get the animation index number and then use:

Custom script: call SetUnitAnimationByIndex(udg_[unit],[index number])
Image
WatermelonMan
 
Posts: 676
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 3:10 pm

Re: "I'm chargin' ma fireball"

Postby Mur » Sun Sep 07, 2008 2:16 pm

Was really hoping to avoid triggers for this, as the charge-up mechanic is going to feature a lot. I swear I got it to work without them once :(

Thanks for the help all.
More like murlurk.
User avatar
Mur
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 2:47 pm
Location: England.


Return to Custom Mapmaking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron